Having to come to terms with a recent death of a loved one is hard. We are not here to say that it is easy. But, what we can say is you are not alone.

Through the many stages of grief, our grief and loss counseling and support groups are going to be with you every step of the way.


Grief and Loss CounselingAs someone copes with a recent death, they may experience feelings of loss, emotional distress and depression. It is common to feel sad, anxious and grief-stricken as day-to-day life begins to change. Moving forward isn’t easy, it takes time, and there is not a normal time period for a person to grieve.

Traditionally, there are five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. Many people don’t go through all of the stages, perhaps don’t go through them in the traditional order or may even feel more than one at once. And, that is okay. We are not here to “move you along.” We are here to help you in any way that we can.

  • Denial: The act of declaring something to be false. During a denial period, you may feel that your world is meaningless or that you are being overwhelmed. You can be in a state of shock and wonder what the right course of action to moving on might be.
  • Anger: A strong feeling of hostility. Feelings of anger can come up during this time. Being mad that you are losing or have lost a loved one is okay. Commonly, feelings of anger can be just the tip of the other emotions you’re feeling. Other emotions such as disbelief, guilt, sadness and shock potentially could come later. With a proper support community, you can get through those emotions.
  • Bargaining: If your loved one has died, it may be that you want it all to be a dream and ask to wake up.
  • Depression: At this level, you may come to terms that your loved one has died. And, this moment may seem as if it will last forever. You may want to withdraw from your daily life and not see anyone. It is okay to take time for yourself; however, it is important to keep yourself interacting with someone during this time.
  • Acceptance: Throughout these stages, we’ve discussed feeling overwhelmed, shock, sadness, guilt and anger. At this point, whenever you are ready, you can accept that your loved one has gone and begin to put your life in order.

It’s important to keep interacting with a support group during this time. Your support group can be there to share memories with you, to offer help with family duties and to just sit with you even when you don’t feel like talking.


Our grief and loss counseling services is a community-based program that provides grief and loss counseling throughout North Central West Virginia. We offer help and support to those who have experienced loss due to death or other life circumstances.


WV Caring invites you to attend a Memorial Service in remembrance of our patients and families. It is open to the public. All services begin at 6:30 p.m. Please select a location that is convenient to you, and bring a picture of your loved one for a table top display.

Thursday, October 11

Reedsville, Preston County

Mill Chapel United Brethren in Christ

6732 Kingwood Pike, Reedsville, WV 26547

Tuesday, October 16

Elkins, Randolph County

Woodford Memorial United Methodist Church

113 First Street, Elkins, WV 26241

Thursday, October 18

Morgantown, Monongalia County

Woodland United Methodist Church

1846 Mileground Rd. Morgantown, WV 26505


WV Caring’s grief and loss team can help you sort through the overwhelming and often conflicting feelings that bombard you when you least expect it. Our team includes trained and licensed bereavement social workers.

For more information on our grief and loss counseling or support groups, call: 1-800-350-1161.